Saturday, May 12, 2012

(30 km from Danta) the Kumbhariya group of Jain temples dates back to the Solanki period (11th - 13th century). The five temples are dedicated to: Mahavira, Shantinath, Parshvanath, Neminath and Sambhavanath. The temples have a main shrine in the centre of a rectangular courtyard, formed by the series of shrines with 'shikharas', dedicated to Jain 'Tirthankaras'.

On each side there is a porch with a balcony, reached by a flight of steps. The quality of workmanship on the marble is excellent and reminds one of the Dilwara Jain temples at Mt. Abu.

No comments:

Post a Comment